Melancholy Mess

Melancholy-xx-Louis-Jean-Francois-I-Lagrenee

Lethargic melancholy rolls over me like a dark cloud of despair. I know not why I am thus, know not what has made me so. All I know is, I feel every last bit of hope, energy, LIFE, has been sapped from me as a spider would sap the soul of her victim. Yet none of my precious arachnids are the cause of so much woe – matter of fact, watching them spin and dance upon their intricate traps causes me great joy.

 
But not these days.  Not even the colors of my beloved stir my soul and that above all frightens me, for if my beloved cannot break this sorrowful spell, what in Goddess’ name has taken hold of me? I want my joy back, I want to feel alive again, not some wraith draped in linen waiting for the death of all days.
 
I lay in the comfort of a voice my mother came to love in her youth and I love still even in this age that would deem that love unpopular. His is rich, glowing, amber bourbon, aged to perfection, smooth, comforting elixir to my weariness. The words speak to me, the melody soothes me, giving me comfort that this, too, shall eventually pass.
Cold it was within the marrow
Waiting like a wounded sparrow
Helpless and forgotten
While the radio played on
Sing your song you fool, you dreamer
Cross the space that lies between us
Cast the stones of fortune
For the journey has begun,
Yes, it has begun

4 responses to “Melancholy Mess

  1. Hello

    I’d like to nominate your blog for the Liebster award which recognizes up and coming blogs (generally those with less than 200 followers), and hopefully drives more traffic your way when I provide a link for my readers/followers. I’m planning a post (probably for Monday or Tuesday) that outlines the recognition. Would you accept?

    Joe

Feedback